Why Trucking?

Well this all started about a year ago. Russ & I were closing a restaurant we lost a year of our lives  & pretty much all his savings to. We were depressed, broke, & had no clue what we were going to do. Neither if us had completed any college & now we couldn’t afford to.  Oh and our best friend & roommate of four years decided to move out. (& that’s a whole other story) So one day Russ mentioned driving trucks. I immediately shot down the idea. Although I was curious enough to look into it but that just gave me more resolve. I read some horror stories! Wives that wanted to drive with their husbands and made it a couple of days. The one that stuck in my mind was a lady who was driving at night & in pouring rain. She said she couldn’t see the road & almost ran off it. After that she was done with trucking.  I could just see that being me. I hate driving at night in the rain! I couldn’t have Russ pay $5000 for me to go to trucking school & me wimp out like that. So it wasn’t talked about for a long time. Then one day as I’m cleaning up someones mess of crab legs, shrimp tails, & just plain out nastiness and realize I’m getting paid $5 for this crap. After I just kissed their ass for an hour. I realized trucking looked pretty dang good! So I went home & did some more extensive research. I found tons of wonderful stories about couples that had done it for years & loved it. & The best thing I found that day was that we could go to school for free. Without having to sign any contracts! The hope grant paid for 10 weeks of professional truck driving at Griffin Tech! I think we paid a total of $300 (for both of us) on the tests & registration fees. So then we started our journey. I didn’t even know how to drive a stick shift! But I was determined & I had excellent teachers & classmates. I’m going to miss that class. Everyone was so supportive of each other. But it wasn’t always rainbows & sunshine.  I remember a couple of times after repeatedly trying a maneuver & failing, I just wanted to quit. I said I can’t do this! & Once I was so upset because I felt the truck was made for a man to operate. It was almost impossible for me to pull the 5th wheel release handle, the clutch was killing my leg, & I just couldn’t turn the steering wheel fast enough. That’s when my wonderful teacher Mr. Harris stepped in and told me I could & would do this. Fast forward to test day. I’m insanely nervous. Russ had already passed & so the pressure was on. I still wasn’t confident with my blind side parallel & I heard the tester was a jerk. It was supposed to start raining hard that day so I only had to do a small part of the pre-trip. Later that night I realized I forgot to check the brake drums! I had to do straight back, blind side offset, & the 90. THANK GOD. I breezed through that. Then it was time for the road test which I thought would be the easiest part. When we started off the tester told me he wasn’t “into” downshifting. So immediately I’m scared to downshift! So I took an on ramp to 1941 in 8th gear! lol He said “that was pretty rough.” And that pretty much sums up my road test. Pretty rough. I’ve never done so bad. He was constantly telling me to hurry up & slow down. It was weird. BUT I PASSED!!! 🙂 I’ve never been so proud of myself. So now we just have to take our hazmat test & wait for the background check. We’re really, really, really wanting to drive for US Express. I’ve heard so many good things about them & they allow a dog. Which is my #1 concern! Well, that’s enough for now. I’ll update when something happens.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

